“CAKE BY THE OCEAN” – DNCE

1443739047208

When I first heard that Joe Jonas was going to start a “new band,” I kind of rolled my eyes. Back in the day when he was prepping his first solo album with Hollywood Records, rumors were buzzing around that he was working with Frankmusik on an electropop album that was influenced by Freddie Mercury. I was, like, seriously excited because I really thought he was about to deliver a dance-worthy electro ditty that sounded like the JoBros went to the Copacabana with Erasure. BUT NOPE! After all that hoopla, we got Fastlife, which, let’s be real here, totally sucked. From the awful cover art to the reheated Chris Brown tracks, the whole thing was just sooooo meh and forced. I mean, he was literally at his prime and that’s literally all he could do? #Disappointed.

Cut to five years later, and we now have DNCE and their first single, “Cake by the Ocean,” co-crafted by Justin Tranter and Mattman and Robin. Let me just say, I am more than thrilled with this song. It’s a BOP and everything that I wanted to hear from a band called DNCE. Starting off with some chill guitar licks, the song quickly erupts into a massive chorus that sort of recalls “Here (In Your Arms)” by Hellogoodbye, but with a little more hutzpah. “Walk for me, baby, I’ll be Didd and you’ll be Naomi, whoa-oh, Let’s lose our minds and go fucking crazy, I-I-I-I-I-I keep on hoping we’ll eat cake by the ocean!” Does it make sense? Not really. But, who cares??? It’s catchy AF, and I’m here for it.

Seriously though, I am actually really excited for this album. It sounds like for once; Joe Jo is actually making music he likes that actually has some personality and character. And, if this single is any indication, his brother Nick may have some competition on the charts this fall.

Listen below~

One thought on ““CAKE BY THE OCEAN” – DNCE

Leave a Reply

